Feeling myself: a political post

Feelin myself. I’m feelin myself. I’m feelin my – feelin myself. I’m feelin myself.

I may or may not have been listening to Nicki Minaj and Beyonce a few minutes ago.

Additionally, I may or may not have participated in a march yesterday.

The NCNAACP hosted a moral march in Raleigh to defend liberty and justice for all, and not just for a privileged few.

We marched for human rights. We marched for health care access, women’s rights, black lives, climate change, voting rights, LGBTQ rights, public education, the injustices currently faced by immigrants and refugees, and a slew of other causes that I would probably forget to mention in their entirety.

SN: I’m currently watching the Grammy’s so I am EXTREMELY distracted but will try to stay true to the title of this post. The operative word here is try.

First and foremost it was super encouraging and empowering to march with other like-minded people who are disgusted with U.S. government and politics, and want to –

SN II: YES CHANCE THE RAPPER FOR BEST NEW ARTIST

do something about it. People who want to stand up for marginalized groups and the underdog, and who want to ensure that tomorrow is better than today.

I’m pretty profoundly annoyed at the current political climate here in the U.S. I feel especially bad for people like my father who fought for this country in the 70s, lived during segregation, saw incredible progress, and are now living to see that progress threatened by an extremist right-wing government [insert enormous eye roll here].

Sigh. Now’s not the time to back down. Now’s the time to organize and prioritize, and figure out a strategic way to resist and persist. And that’s that.

There’s so much more that I have and want to say on this topic. I’ll bookmark this and follow up later. Expect some other topics in between this political post and future ones.

Cheers.

-J

Leave a Reply

